Usertreffen 2024: 29.5.-2.6. | Anmelden bitte bis 30.4. ×
Schiffsmodell.net

Making a rotating beacon... Help!

Guest Sune Nielsen

Guest Sune Nielsen

Hi all fellow ship builders...

I'm trying to make a rotating beacon...

I must say, that I am a novice in soldering... At best...

I've mounted 5 SMD 0805s on a common plus wire. They will get there own ground wire...

This was very hard to do... Maby my sodering iron is a bit to big... I could use a smaller tip... Anyway... Is this the way to do it, or do some of you have a better and more easy way ?

post-6473-1419861810,0804_thumb.jpg

I think it's the only way to do this kind of work, since each LED needs his own + or - wire! The only thing to watch is the right LED polarity, and it should work fine. Easier won't be possible, cause the small size of model-lights!

Have you already tested the light? I'm planning to build two of it for my "Weser" for a very long time, but never started working.... Maybe this will spark me!

Yes I have tested it with a light controller.

I fixed the SMDs with a little glue before soldering. Beware of that. Hot glue is not good for your health I think :)

No, not really I guess. :(

Yet I have one small question:

What's the diameter of the light? Would it be possible to mount it into a hollow 3mm., standard LED ? :nixweiss:

U-Jäger D185

Hallo,

32.90 EUR ?? :|

thats not even the cheapest way to have (but completed with controller and without any hurts while mounting the fine wires on that SMDs !!)

Anyway: i look for some lights with 10 led´s, because my next construction will be an lighthouse ship.

It looks better if there is a led every 36°.....

the diameter should be not more than 10mm.

is there anyone who can help

y.s

Guest Sune Nielsen
Also the most expensive :Beule:.

Then everything gets a bit more complicated, but that makes it more fun too...

A nice site though...

Regarding 0603... I would need a smaller solder tip then...